Bottom Paint

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bottom Paint

Let's here it. Which do you prefer and why?

I have been using Interlux Ultra with Biolux for five years. I haven't had any growth problems as this paint is a very good anti-fouling paint. I have some slime on the boat when I pull her in the Fall but that's all. I think it has worked well. I am particularily interested in opinions on paint that create the smoothest boat bottom and allow for higher speed/best efficency.
    Bullish
    2002 28
    Volvo Kamd 44p's

sigpic

I use the same paint. Sand the bottom with my finishing sander then thin down the paint and apply 1 coat with a 1/4" nap roller. Used 3/4 gal. This gives a very smooth finish. I gained 1.5kts from the previous year.
    Life is to short for an ugly boat

sigpic
    2015 Enclosed Helm 35
    Tom

Comment

What are you using on shafts, rudders, trim tabs? I used interlux paint spray a few years ago but wasn't impressed.
      Bullish
      2002 28
      Volvo Kamd 44p's

sigpic

Comment

Prop Speed

Has anybody used this product? When I bought my 28 the props were painted GOLD found out that it's Prop Speed. No growth on the props. Wonder if it can be used on the Volvo out drives as well???
        "Addison Leigh"
        1995 Carolina Classic 28'
        Wrightsville Beach, NC

Comment

bottom paint